Madball was founded in 1988 and featured most of Agnostic Front's members. Madball consisted of Agnostic Front's vocalist Roger Miret on bass, Vinnie Stigma on guitar, Will Shepler on drums, and vocalist Freddy Cricien, Roger Miret's younger brother. Madball's first few gigs consisted of un-used Agnostic Front songs. Madball's first release was the "Ball of Destruction" EP in 1989. After years of playing regional shows in and around the New York area, a second guitarist, Matt Henderson, would join the band. By then, they recorded and released the EP "Droppin' Many Suckers" for Wreckage Records.

One year later Roger Miret left the band, and was replaced by bassist Hoya Roc — a good friend of Freddy Cricien — who was looking for a new band as his band, Dmize, was breaking up. The new incarnation of the band was signed by Roadrunner Records in 1994 and released a pair of full-lengths; "Set It Off" in 1994 and "Demonstrating My Style" in 1996. Touring steadily, the band built a sizeable fan base outside their hometown. 1995 saw the band participating in the N.Y.H.C. Documentary. Extensive interviews were conducted with Freddy as well as a performance on July 29, 1995 at the now defunct "Coney Island High".

Freddy's brother, Roger, broke several vertebrae in his back at that show, requiring him to be in traction for the better part of a year. Consisting of Cricien, Henderson, Hoya, and new drummer John Lafatta, the band recorded "Look My Way", which was released in early 1998. "Hold It Down" followed two years later. The band briefly broke up from early 2001 until late 2002. The current lineup of Freddy Cricien, Hoya Roc, Mitts (ex-Skarhead), and Rigg Ross (ex-Hatebreed) began touring and recording at the end of 2002. Since then, Madball has come out with: "Best of Madball" in 2003, "N.Y.H.C." (EP) in 2004, "Legacy" in 2005, and "Infiltrate The System" in 2007.

In 2009, Rigg Ross left to join Skarhead and was replaced by ex-Throwdown Ben Dussault. In December 2009, Freddy Cricien announced that the band was currently working on their new album "Empire" which was released 2010. Along with bands such as Agnostic Front, Vietnom, Bulldoze, Resistance and H2O, they comprise a part of New York's DMS Crew. Vocalist Cricien and bass player Hoya are also in the band Hazen Street, along with members of H2O and Cro-Mags.

Unusually, for “Empire”, MADBALL chose to work with a pure metal producer like Eric Rutan of HATE ETERNAL who had previously worked with bands like MISERY INDEX or CANNIBAL CORPSE.

Hardcore icon Cricien comments: "Erik has been great to work with. He's definitely a perfectionist, which I have no problem with. It's going to benefit us in the end! He's got his own techniques like everyone does, so he's going to bring a different dynamic into the sound/mix. I'm excited for people to hear the finish product. I predict it will be very HARD!”

Back to bands
Quick access