Sounds From The Vortex


THE SPIRIT - Sounds From The Vortex

Released on: 2018-08-10

In the long Scandinavian winter nights of the 1990s, the harshness of (melodic) death was combined with the icy attitude of black metal and created a suffocating darkness that has lasted until today. The soul of this musical fusion lives on in the passionate songwriting of THE SPIRIT, and with its determination and utter elegance »Sounds From The Vortex« evokes an atmosphere hailing right from the Scandinavian tombs.

Founded in Saarbrücken in 2015, THE SPIRIT are a young, but by no means inexperienced band. Their songs thrive on creative rhythms, swirling melodies and an inherently frosty attitude. Rife with long, hypnotic guitar solos and instrumental parts the band manage to maintain an incomparable pace throughout. Their previously self-released but strictly limited debut »Sounds From The Vortex« has already proved to the press what the quartet is capable of and the full power of these seven tracks is now being gathered and re-released to a wider audience through Nuclear Blast.

With a penchant for mysticism and the darkness beyond, these »Sounds From The Vortex« are captivating and mesmerizing. The element of unpredictability can also be found in the lineup list, as the four musicians reveal only their initials and their place of origin and keep the rest in secrecy. The artistic handwriting behind the atmospheric cover is unmistakable though, as it comes from the Romanian metal artwork guru Costin Chioreanu.

In October and November, the band embarks on a major European tour with their label mates HYPOCRISY and KATALYSM under the revived cult theme of »Death ... Is Just The Beginning«. And according to this motto, THE SPIRIT head for the future: they find the forgotten spark of the past and set the world on fire again.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Sounds From The Vortex 2:29
2 - Cosmic Fear 4:27
3 - The Clouds Of Damnation 7:14
4 - Cross The Bridge To Eternity 6:15
5 - Illuminate the Night Sky 5:43
6 - The Great Mortality 5:35
7 - Fields Of The Unknown 6:17

Back to bands
Quick access