Born To Perish


DESTRUCTION - Born To Perish

Released on: 2019-08-09

Born to perish? This statement does not apply to the Thrash Metal legends DESTRUCTION, though their new album »Born To Perish« will certainly create a furore on August 9th. The brand-new line-up featuring the Canadian drum animal Randy Black and Swiss shred-master Damir Eskić, together with veterans Schmier and Mike, is here to bring you musical destruction. This is a new chapter in the long, impressive history of the band.

The recordings for »Born To Perish« took place from January to March 2019 in the Little Creek Studio in Switzerland under the aegis of long time intimate VO Pulver. “We have browbeaten ourselves once again because we wanted to finish the recordings before we hit the road with OVERKILL in Europe”, Schmier laughs. The result proves their efforts more than worthwhile. Within a few seconds, »Born To Perish« is no doubt identifiable as a DESTRUCTION album, but there are also some experiments lurking, having lured them outside of the box. The guitar work has especially developed. “We have two guitarists in the band now which wouldn’t make sense if the people couldn’t hear it. Our goal was to raise massive walls of guitars. And I think we succeeded.”

»Born To Perish« starts like a thunder clap, immediately hitting you with the title song – skipping any intro or frippery. This is classic Thrash Metal, like the following bone breaking ‘Inspired By Death’, the heavy but catchy tune ‘Betrayal’ and the raised middle finger ‘Rotten’. Since 1982 when DESTRUCTION was first founded, they’ve never once lost their aggressiveness. On the second part of the album one can expect some surprises like ‘Butchered For Life’, which starts out like a rock ballad ending up as a real Thrash Metal monster. In ‘Fatal Flight 17’, outstanding with its exceptional riffing, Schmier both tells a personal story and pays tribute to his old hero Gary Moore.

Lyric wise, »Born To Perish« is a statement against power-hungry politicians, senseless hate, and all the world’s madness. Schmier explains: “The vulture on the cover is something like an “anti-eagle” that symbolizes the insatiable greed of people. I always wonder what drives these people: wealthy people want to be millionaires; millionaires want to be billionaires, and so on. This seems to be an endless spiral.”

Likewise, DESTRUTCTION seem to accelerate endlessly forwards – in 2019 more than ever.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Born To Perish 5:20
2 - Inspired By Death 4:16
3 - Betrayal 4:05
4 - Rotten 4:49
5 - Filthy Wealth 4:01
6 - Butchered For Life 6:43
7 - Tyrants Of The Netherworld 3:40
8 - We Breed Evil 5:16
9 - Fatal Flight 17 4:27
10 - Ratcatcher 4:02
11 - Hellbound (Bonus) 3:38
Back to bands
Quick access