Catch 22

Released on: 2002-02-25

If you look up “workaholic” in the dictionary, you’re sure to find a picture of Peter Tägtgren. Without a doubt he’s the busiest man in the metal scene. Despite his status as a top producer and the success of his nu-metal project, PAIN, he still fronts the band that got him where he is today: HYPOCRISY!

Peter and his bandmates Lars Szöke and Mikael Hedlund continually raise the roof of the heavy metal scene. In the last several years – with such amazing albums as The Final Chapter (1997), Hypocrisy (1999), Into the Abyss (2000) or the 2001 compilation Ten Years of Chaos and Confusion, they’ve firmly established the band as a first-rate act. They’ve charted all over the world, toured Europe, Japan and the US, and the fans all over the world had found new death metal heroes. During their European Nuclear Blast Festival Tour (with RAISE HELL, KATAKLYSM, DESTRUCTION, CREMATORY), they played in the middle of the set, but for the fans, they were the headliner. Nobody expected a new HYPOCRISY album this fast, but one day Peter called the record company and told them that they had recorded a new album ‘cause there had been a little time available at the studio. Strange!

With Catch 22, HYPOCRISY opens up a new dimension of their sound. They combined the traditional HYPOCRISY trademarks with some new influences like modern rock ’n’ roll or punk rock. Songs like “Don’t judge me”, “Destroyed,”A Public Puppet” and “Another Dead End (For A Dead Man)“ are some of the best songs this legendary death metal outfit ever recorded in their ten-year long career.

It all began back in 1991 when Peter sent the first demo to some record companies. Nuclear Blast realized the huge potential immediately and offered them a contract. From the release of the first album, Penetralia, back in 1992 ‘til the Final Chapter, HYPOCRISY became the most popular death metal band in the underground. With their 1997 output, The Final Chapter, they reached a bigger audience for the first time with people who are not into death metal starting to listen to the band. It also marked their breakthrough in the USA because they played at Milwaukee Metalfest for the first time. The video for the title track was also recorded in the USA, and HYPOCRISY became the next metal sensation from Europe. With their following albums, Hypocrisy and Into the Abyss, HYPOCRISY reached a big crossover audience. The HYPOCRISY hysteria had officially begun. One of the secrets of their success is undoubtedly Peter Tägtgren, who is a total freak, a party animal and one of the most honest and likeable people in the business. And he is an amazing songwriter as well, which you can definitely hear here.


 Track list

   1 - Don't Judge Me
   2 - Destroyed
   3 - Edge Of Madness
   4 - A Public Puppet
   5 - Uncontrolled
   6 - Turn The Page
   7 - Hatred
   8 - Another Dead End
   9 - Seeds Of The Chosen One
 10 - All turns black

One of the world's leading Heavy Metal Online-Shops

Nuclear Blast, one of the world’s leading Heavy Metal online shops is the number one when it comes to ordering CDs, vinyl, T-shirts, DVDs, as well as accessories and merchandise such as band shirts, girlies, accessories and a lot more from the Heavy Metal scene. The online shop, specialized in Heavy Metal, offers, among others, products of Heavy Metal icons such as Metallica, AC/DC, Motörhead, Slayer, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Sabaton, Accept, Paradise Lost, Belphegor, Exodus, Behemoth, Ghost, Powerwolf, Asphyx, Sodom, Cradle of Filth, Blind Guardian, Die Apokalyptischen Reiter, Eluveitie, Nightwish, Carcass, Helloween Burning Witches, Korpiklaani, Enslaved, Dimmu Borgir, Kreator, Hammerfall, Machine Head, Overkill, Wintersun, Epica, Thy Art Is Murder, Comeback Kid, Beast In Black, Battle Beast and a lot more acts of the genres Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Black Metal, Gothic, Hard Rock, Doom, Hardcore, Symphonic Metal, Power Metal, Pagan Metal and Progressive Metal. The NUCLEAR BLAST Heavy Metal mailorder, where you can buy more than 30,000 different Heavy Metal articles including the latest Heavy Metal fan articles for all those interested in T-shirts, CDs, DVDs and vinyl.