Blind Guardian

At The Edge Of Time

Released on: 2010-07-30

BLIND GUARDIAN are back! The legends created an impressive record called “At The Edge Of Time”. Hansi Kürsch (vocals), André Olbrich (guitar), Marcus Siepen (guitar) and Frederik Ehmke (drums & percussion) prove that they have been and still are among the Melodic/Prog-protagonists in harder music.

And they return with another strike. “At The Edge Of Time” is the title of the new masterpiece and once again the focus is on bright and clear sounding orchestral compositions, that almost don’t need synthetic sounds.
To mention some favorite songs is harder than ever because this time the record combines quality, individuality and high-class musicians in one. Should the opening hymn “Sacred Worlds” respectively the final chord “Wheel Of Time” be named? Or the classic piano-sequences which introduce “War Of The Thrones” that balances between massive orchestration and Kürsch’s expressionistic voice, which reminisces somehow the rock legends QUEEN.
The voluminous “Road Of No Release” inspires with its huge choirs and its progressive construction. But there are also songs like “Valkyries” that make proggers rejoice.
Friends of cumbersome heaviness will be fascinated by the bombastic “Control The Divine” that combines majestic elements of rock- and metal luminaries like SAVATAGE, BLACK SABBATH and the solo band of the too early deceased, exceptionally talented Ronnie James Dio. Brachial metalheads will be happy about “Tanelorn (Into The Void), “A Voice In The Dark” and especially about “Ride Into Obsession” – a hyper-fast but swinging-hymn-like track that is fast enough (210 bpm) to show that some speed metal institutions still need to learn something.
Fantasy- and folk-flair is spread by “Curse My Name”. Beautiful strings- and flute-arrangements make this song a worthy follower for “Bard’s Song” – one of the greatest hits of BLIND GUARDIAN.
“We want to define ourselves with every release on a new level”, says mainman Hansi Kürsch.
After the latest masterpieces “A Night At The Opera” and “A Twist In The Myth” there couldn’t have been any critic who could imagine that BLIND GUARDIAN will take them into other spheres. And the basis of this will be that strong that the die-hard-critics will have to move…


 Track list

 1 - Sacred Worlds

 2 - Tanelorn (Into The Void)

 3 - Road Of No Release

 4 - Ride Into Obsession

 5 - Curse My Name

 6 - Valkyries

 7 - Control The Divine

 8 - War Of The Thrones (Piano)

 9 - A Voice In The Dark

 10 - Wheel Of Time


One of the world's leading Heavy Metal Online-Shops


Nuclear Blast, one of the world’s leading Heavy Metal online shops is the number one when it comes to ordering CDs, vinyl, T-shirts, DVDs, as well as accessories and merchandise such as band shirts, girlies, accessories and a lot more from the Heavy Metal scene. The online shop, specialized in Heavy Metal, offers, among others, products of Heavy Metal icons such as Metallica, AC/DC, Motörhead, Slayer, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Sabaton, Accept, Paradise Lost, Belphegor, Exodus, Behemoth, Ghost, Powerwolf, Asphyx, Sodom, Cradle of Filth, Blind Guardian, Die Apokalyptischen Reiter, Eluveitie, Nightwish, Carcass, Helloween Burning Witches, Korpiklaani, Enslaved, Dimmu Borgir, Kreator, Hammerfall, Machine Head, Overkill, Wintersun, Epica, Thy Art Is Murder, Comeback Kid, Beast In Black, Battle Beast and a lot more acts of the genres Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Black Metal, Gothic, Hard Rock, Doom, Hardcore, Symphonic Metal, Power Metal, Pagan Metal and Progressive Metal. The Heavy Metal mailorder, where you can buy more than 30,000 different Heavy Metal articles, also publishes the legendary NUCLEAR BLAST! magazine three times a year which, being the mailorder catalogue, not only serves the die-hard Heavy Metal fans but also lists the latest Heavy Metal fan articles for all those interested in T-shirts, CDs, DVDs and vinyl.