Bay Area thrash legends HEATHEN are back! New album, Empire of the Blind, picks up where the group’s vaunted trio of full-lengths—Breaking the Silence (1987), Victims of Deception (1991), and The Evolution of Chaos (2010)—left off, but pushes the limits of aggression, melody, and heaviness. Indeed, the idea behind Empire of the Blind was an all-eras full-length, one that had a distinct attitude complemented by shorter, more focused songwriting. Essentially, classic HEATHEN but with updated musical proficiency and economy. Penned by guitarist/songwriter Kragen Lum between 2012 and 2019 at the six-stringer’s studio, Empire of the Blind is a thrash metal tour de force.

Nineteen years separate Victims of Deception from The Evolution of Chaos. A similar but shorter timeframe bridges Empire of the Blind from its predecessor. Naturally, HEATHEN loyalists have become accustomed to prolonged gaps between full-lengths.


As the years ticked by, musically, the core of the group—founding member/guitarist Lee Altus and vocalist David White—remained intact. In 2007, the group was joined by Lum from Los Angeles-based progressive metallers Prototype. Unfortunately, the departure (and subsequent passing) of bassist Jon Torres and drummer Darren Minter meant that HEATHEN’s rhythm section would need to be replaced yet again, however. After seven years, the San Franciscans found bassist Jason Mirza (Psychosis) and drummer Jim DeMaria (Toxik). Officially a quintet, HEATHEN captured the energy, passion, and magic of the moment to realize Empire of the Blind.

Where HEATHEN will go from here is anybody’s guess, but the near term—post-COVID-19—is to take the band to places familiar and foreign. Fans from California and Massachusetts to São Paulo and Kobe will finally be able to hear classics like “Death by Hanging,” “Open the Grave,” “Hypnotized,” and “Dying Season” again, while also getting to experience the power and vision of new tracks like “The Blight,” “The Gods Divide,” and the inimitable title track, “Empire of the Blind.” The future is Heathen’s!

Radiating News

L’un des plus grands shop en ligne de Heavy Metal 


Nuclear Blast, l’un des plus grand shop en ligne de Heavy Metal, est le leader pour ce qui concerne la commande de CDs, Vinyls, T-Shirts, DVDs, mais aussi pour des accessoires et marchandises comme des T-Shirts de groupes, des vêtements pour femmes, accessoires, et bien plus encore de la scène Heavy Metal. Le shop en ligne, spécialisé en Heavy Metal, offre entre autres des produits d’icones du Heavy Metal comme Metallica, AC/DC, Motörhead, Slayer, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Sabaton, Accept, Paradise Lost, Belphegor, Exodus, Behemoth, Ghost, Powerwolf, Asphyx, Sodom, Cradle of Filth, Blind Guardian, Die Apokalyptischen Reiter, Eluveitie, Nightwish, Carcass, Helloween, Burning Witches, Korpiklaani, Enslaved, Dimmu Borgir, Kreator, Hammerfall, Machine Head, Overkill, Wintersun, Epica, Thy Art Is Murder, Comeback Kid, Beast In Black, Battle Beast, et bien plus encore venant des scènes Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Black Metal, Gothic, Hard Rock, Doom, Hardcore, Symphonic Metal, Power Metal, Pagan Metal, et Metal Progressif. Le shop en ligne, où l’on peut acheter plus de 30,000 articles différents de Heavy Metal, publie également le légendaire NUCLEAR BLAST! Magazine trois fois par an. Étant le catalogue de la boutique, ce catalogue ne plait pas uniquement aux fans de Heavy Metal, mais renseigne également sur toutes les nouveautés Heavy Metal pour ceux qui s’intéressent aux T-Shirts, CDs, DVDs et Vinyls.