Serenity In Fire



  1. The Ambassador Of Pain
  2. The Resurrected
  3. As I Slither
  4. For All Our Sins
  5. The Night They Returned
  6. Serenity In Fire
  7. Blood On The Swans
  8. Seconds From The End
  9. The Tragedy I Preach
  10. Under The Bleeding Sun

'Serenity In Fire', the seventh studio album of KATAKLYSM, arises – charged with superlatives!

Not only that it brings you ten absolute dashing songs filled with violence and catchy hooks, it also features new drummer Martin Maurais who is a real animal at his instrument and gives the terms 'speed' and 'timing' a whole new meaning. And you can find a special guest, too, if you listen carefully: HYPOCRISY's Peter Tägtgren appears as additional vocalist on the track 'For All Our Sins' and – together with Maurizio Iacono – makes it an amazing crusher of a song.

The speedy 'As I Slither' shares the same quality and can already be considered as the coming highlight of KATAKLYSM's live-shows by now. The Canadian Hyperblasters formed in 1991 and spread their first demo one year later – 'Death Gate Cycle Of Reincarnation' already obtained recognition worldwide and ultimately led to a record deal with Nuclear Blast, signed in 1993. Demo plus bonus track 'The Orb Of Uncreation' became KATAKLYSM's first official release in the form of the MCD 'The Mystical Gate Of Recreation', also in stores 1993. The extreme high speed Death Metal with its very own character shown on that CD laid the foundation stone of a new metal style: The Northern Hyperblast.

1995 KATAKLYSM presented their very first full length album 'Sorcery', a revelation concerning fast and brutal metal. 'Temple Of Knowledge' in 1996 even topped 'Sorcery' in terms of destructiveness and wrecking energy – a true archetype that bestowed the band great compliment, euphoric critics and several well-visited tours. On the following albums 'Victims Of This Fallen World' and 'The Prophecy', KATAKLYSM started to experiment with new possibilities in sound and arrangements, leading the critics to name 'The Prophecy' one of the most devastating releases in extreme music in years.

The big question afterwards: Would a further increase be possible? Yes, indeed!

With 'Epic (The Poetry Of War)', Canada's finest created a classic, backed with a melodic edge and propelled by extreme roaring power, making KATAKLYSM's star rose further on and on. TV appearances and headliner tours pervaded the band's life thenceforward and took them to more than 19 countries all around the world. 'Shadows & Dust' in 2002 continued KATAKLYSM's success with nine immense ass-kicking tracks, including the extreme hymn 'Illuminati'; the Canadian magazine BW&BK described the album as 'a pure holocaust of events as all the planets appear to have lined up for this scar on humanity' and voted it among the best 25 records of the year!

It shoudn't be surprising if KATAKLYSM will again hit several hit lists with 'Serenity In Fire', for it is the strongest evidence that the Death Metal freaks from Canada have found the receipt of success: The seventh album in series that keeps up high the flag of extreme guitar music in high quality without fillers; that's something only KATAKLYSM can manage. Northern Hyperblast at terminal velocity!