The Vertigo Trigger



  1. Ready To Rumble
  2. Let's Have My Story Told
  3. Live A Little
  4. 1.000.000 Fahrenheit
  5. Buried Alive
  6. The Voice You Need To Hear
  7. Life Is A Hurricane
  8. If I
  9. Fear Of Missing Out
  10. Ashlight
  11. Too Old For Fairy Tales

“Wake Up, Get Ready…. Wake Up, Get Ready…. Wake Up, Get Ready….”

Founded by vocalist Jake E (ex-AMARANTHE) and guitarist Jesper Strömblad (ex-IN FLAMES), CYHRA has gone from being reminiscent of the duo's former bands to having an identity all its own. With the addition of lead guitarist Euge Valovirta (ex-SHINING), and drummer Alex Landenburg (KAMELOT) the group have released two critically acclaimed albums: 2017’s Letters To Myself (Spinefarm), and 2019’s No Halos In Hell (Nuclear Blast) – an album which was awarded Rock TV (Japan) “Best Album of 2019”, and given a perfect 10/10 rating by Power Play Magazine (UK). And now in 2023, having recently added guitarist Marcus Sunesson (ex-THE CROWN / ENGEL) the band are ready to return to action with their third, and strongest album yet The Vertigo Trigger.

“It feels amazing to FINALLY have new music to release again! We put a lot of effort into finding out what the future of CYHRA's music was to be and I must say I am overwhelmed with the result. Both with the album and also the song writing!” says vocalist Jake E. “I think that we have made a fantastic follow-up to both of our first two albums, but also at the same time we’ve managed to modernized the song writing. I can assure you that no CYHRA fan will be disappointed! We can't wait for the world to hear what we've created. This is The Vertigo Trigger!”

The new album – the band’s darkest and most adventurous to date, was recorded throughout the summer and fall of 2022 was entirely self-produced by the band, with guitarist Euge Valovirta taking on the mixing duties.

'This is the first album we produced by ourselves and it turned out to be just like I heard it in my head before we even started to record it.” says Euge. “We still wanted to have (long time producer) Jacob Hansen's input on it so he did the mastering and I did the mixing. I'm very proud of it. And us. Something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue :-)'.

“It's so great to have a new album around the corner. We have kept the essential CYHRA sound, but at the same time upgraded and updated it a bit.” adds guitarist Jesper Strömblad. “I love what Euge has done to the mix and I know you are not gonna be disappointed!”

“To me, this is a perfect successor to our first two records. It has all the CYHRA trademarks, but it’s a bit more Rock’n’Roll, more raw, in the way we recorded it.” adds drummer Alex Landenburg. “And on top of that, Euge’s great mix and Jacob Hansen’s mastering are a wicked combination!”

In addition to creating their first self-produced album, The Vertigo Trigger is also the first CYHRA album to feature new guitarist Marcus Sunesson.

“It’s the first of the three CYHRA albums that I played guitar on and also contributed to the song writing. It was a fun and very creative process, but also challenging since we wanted to break new ground in order to make the best CYHRA album possible. I am so happy and proud of this beast of an album!” says Marcus. “This time we took a deep breath and dove down to explore a slightly darker, more progressive and modern side of ourselves. Yet still sounding like the CYHRA you all know and love. This album will definitely turn some heads. You will love it!”

Having already debuted the entire new album live to rapturous fan response on a massively successful tour of Japan in January 2023 (including an incredible run of 5 nights in Tokyo!) the band are at long last ready to bring The Vertigo Trigger to their fans in the rest of the world!

“With the exception of the track ‘Ready To Rumble’ – which we released as an album teaser in the fall of 2022, it was important for me to not release songs during the darkest days of the pandemic when we were unable to tour, just because I was afraid to kill my darlings when our fans wouldn’t get to experience these songs live.” says Jake E. “I’m thankful that we waited. Because after trying the whole new album out during 9 shows(!) in Japan in January we now know without a doubt that this album is a banger live, and I can't wait for the rest of the world to experience us on stage!”

And while founding guitarist Jesper Strömblad may currently be noticeably absent from the band’s live shows, fans will be happy to know that he was very much involved throughout the writing and recording process of The Vertigo Trigger – and the band look forward to his return to the fold when he is ready.